Which country is north west of South Africa?

Which country is north west of South Africa?

North West lies in the north of South Africa, on the Botswana border, fringed by the Kalahari desert in the west, Gauteng to the east, and the Free State to the south.

Which country borders South Africa to the West?

South Africa occupies the southern tip of Africa, its coastline stretching more than 2,850 kilometres (1,770 miles) from the desert border with Namibia on the Atlantic (western) coast southwards around the tip of Africa and then northeast to the border with Mozambique on the Indian Ocean.

What Borders Africa to the north?

Mediterranean Sea
The continent is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, the Isthmus of Suez and the Red Sea to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast and the Atlantic Ocean to the west.

What two seas border Africa in the north north west?

The continent is bounded on the west by the Atlantic Ocean, on the north by the Mediterranean Sea, on the east by the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean, and on the south by the mingling waters of the Atlantic and Indian oceans. Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

Where is the North West?

North West England is one of nine official regions of England and consists of the counties of Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire and Merseyside. The North West had a population of 7,052,000 in 2011….The North West England Portal.

North West England
Sovereign state United Kingdom

Which area is North West?

5,469 mi²
North West/Area

Which country is SWA?

South West Africa

Territory of South West Africa Suidwes-Afrika (Afrikaans) Südwestafrika (German) Zuidwest-Afrika (Dutch)
Location of South West Africa (light green) within South Africa
Status Mandate of South Africa
Capital and largest city Windhoek
Official languages English Afrikaans German (1984–1990) Dutch (1915–1983)

What countries are in South West Africa?

The West Africa UN subregion includes the following countries:Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Côte D’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo .

What are some countries in North Africa?

The UN subregion of North Africa consists of 7 countries at the northernmost part of the continent — Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, Western Sahara. North Africa is an economically prosperous area, generating one-third of Africa’s total GDP. Oil production is high in Libya.

Which countries are West African countries?

Which ocean borders Africa on the western coast?

The Atlantic Ocean
The Atlantic Ocean lies between North and South America on the west and Europe and Africa on the east.

What are the major countries in South Africa?

Countries In Southern Africa: Facts You Should Know. Countries that occupy the eastern part of Africa include Kenya, Ethiopia, Somalia, Tanzania etc and, Central Africa is made up of countries like Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola, Cameroon, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea etc. Countries in South Africa is the part that often brings confusion.

What country is surrounded by South Africa?

Lesotho is a landlocked country that is surrounded by South Africa. Also known as the Kingdom of Lesotho, the Land of our Fathers, and the Kingdom in the Sky. A nation submersed in tradition and culture. It’s famous for its beautiful mountain passes, small communities and wildlife.

What are the landlocked countries in southern Africa?

Botswana. Botswana is a landlocked country located in southern Africa.

  • Burkina Faso. Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in West Africa.
  • Burundi. Burundi is a landlocked country in East Africa’s Great Lakes.
  • Central Africa Republic. The Central African Republic is a landlocked country in Central Africa.
  • Chad.
  • Ethiopia.
  • Lesotho.
  • Malawi.
  • Mali.
  • Niger.
  • What are the top ten largest countries in Africa?

    Top 10 Largest African Countries 10) Ethiopia (1,104,300 square kilometers) 9) South Africa (1,219,090 square kilometers) 8) Mali (1,240,192 square kilometers) 7) Angola (1,246,700 square kilometers) 6) Niger (1,267,000 square kilometers) 5) Chad (1,284,000 square kilometers) 4) Libya (1,759,540 square kilometers)