Is the Scottish Cup the oldest trophy?

Is the Scottish Cup the oldest trophy?

Although the Scottish Cup may be the second competition formed in the history of association football, the trophy itself is the oldest in the game and is recognised as such by Guinness World Records. Queen’s Park Captain, JJ Thompson was the first to lift the trophy when his team triumphed at the old Hampden.

How many names are on the Scottish Cup?

The 19 Names on The Scottish Cup.

What are the 2 stars on Aberdeen badge?

Two stars signifying the winning of the two European trophies in 1983 were introduced over the badge in the 2005–06 season.

Who has won the Scottish Cup most?

There have been twenty-five winners of the Scottish Cup. Celtic have won the trophy most often with 40 victories.

Who sponsors the Scottish FA Cup?


Period Sponsor Name
2008–10 Scottish Government Homecoming Scottish Cup in 2008–09 and the Active Nation Scottish Cup in 2009–10
2010–12 No sponsor Scottish Cup
2012–20 William Hill William Hill Scottish Cup
2020–present No sponsor Scottish Cup

Who won Scottish Cup 2021?

St Johnstone F.C.
2020–21 Scottish Cup/Champion
The 2021 Scottish Cup Final was the 136th final of the Scottish Cup and the final of the 2020–21 Scottish Cup, the most prestigious knockout football competition in Scotland. The match was played on 22 May 2021 at Hampden Park, Glasgow. St Johnstone completed the historic cup double by winning it.

Who sponsors Scottish Cup?

The Scottish Health Education Group
The Scottish Health Education Group was the first organisation to sponsor the Scottish Cup in 1983 with the largest sponsorship package in Scottish football at the time, worth around £200,000….Sponsorship.

Period Sponsor Name
2020–present No sponsor Scottish Cup

Is Aberdeen Catholic or Protestant?

Religion in Aberdeen is diverse. Traditionally Christianity with the city being represented by a number of denominations, particularly the Church of Scotland through the Presbytery of Aberdeen and the Catholic faith.

What do you call a person from Aberdeen?

Residents or natives of Aberdeen are known as Aberdonians, whence Aberdeen F.C.’s nickname, “the Dons”.

Who owns Dundee FC?

Tim Keyes
Dundee F.C.

Full name Dundee Football Club
Capacity 11,775
Chairman Tim Keyes
Manager James McPake
League Scottish Premiership

Who is the biggest club in Scotland?

Honours table

Rank Club League
1 Rangers 55
2 Celtic 51
3 Aberdeen 4
4 Heart of Midlothian 4

Is the Scottish Cup sponsored?

Sponsorship. The Scottish Cup has been sponsored several times since the first organisation backed the tournament in 1983. The sponsor has been able to determine the name of the competition.

What is the name of the Scottish football trophy?

Since the competition’s inception, the winning team has always been awarded the famous three-handled trophy known simply as the Scottish Football League Cup. However, during the 1980s when Skol lager sponsored the competition, a second trophy known simply as the “Skol Cup” was awarded concurrent to the first trophy.

What is the name of the Scottish League Cup?

The Scottish League Cup, currently known as the Betfred Cup for sponsorship reasons, is a football competition open to all Scottish Professional Football League (SPFL) clubs. The competition had a straight knockout format but became a group and knockout competition from 2016–17. Rangers are the record holders of the cup, winning 27 times.

What is the oldest football trophy in the world?

The Scottish Cup trophy is the oldest national trophy and also the oldest association football trophy in the world. It was made by silversmith George Edward & Sons in Glasgow and has been presented to the winners of the tournament since 1874.

What is the Scottish Cup and why is it important?

Following the FA Cup, it is the second oldest competition in association football. The Scottish FA imposed new rules for these competitive games, helping to raise standards and putting the foundations in place for the professional game in Scotland. The first tournament began in October 1873 and a total of 16 teams entered the competition.