Where is the fault line in Arkansas?

Where is the fault line in Arkansas?

New Madrid Fault
The New Madrid Fault, also called the New Madrid seismic zone, is actually a series of faults, or fractures, at a weak spot in the earth’s crust called the Reelfoot Rift. It lies deep in the earth and cannot be seen from the surface. The fault line runs roughly 150 miles from Arkansas into Missouri and Illinois.

What fault line is in Tennessee?

“Earthquakes frequently occur in Tennessee because the state’s eastern and western areas sit along seismic zones where earthquake activity happens more frequently – the East Tennessee Seismic Zone and the New Madrid Seismic Zone (NMSZ).

Why do some places not have earthquakes?

Earthquakes and volcanoes usually occur at the edges of tectonic plates. It is much less likely for these to occur in areas that aren’t near plate boundaries, as the movement of the plates causes these events. Some volcanoes can occur in hot spots within plates but these are less common.

Where are US fault lines?

The New Madrid Seismic Zone (NMSZ) in the Central United States, comprising Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Missouri, Ohio, and Tennessee, also has the potential to produce large, destructive quakes—as it did in the winter of 1811-1812.

Is the New Madrid Fault Line active?

The zone is active, averaging more than 200 measured seismic events per year. The New Madrid Fault extends approximately 120 miles southward from the area of Charleston, Missouri, and Cairo, Illinois, through Mew Madrid and Caruthersville, following Interstate 55 to Blytheville, then to Marked Tree Arkansas.

Where is the fault line in Memphis TN?

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (WMC) – The Mid-South is located along the New Madrid Fault which extends around 120 miles southward from Charleston, Missouri, through Mew Madrid and Caruthersville and follows I-55 to Blytheville, then to Marked Tree, Arkansas.