In which city is Delhi located?

In which city is Delhi located?

Delhi, city and national capital territory, north-central India. The city of Delhi actually consists of two components: Old Delhi, in the north, the historic city; and New Delhi, in the south, since 1947 the capital of India, built in the first part of the 20th century as the capital of British India.

Is Delhi a city or state?

National Capital Territory of
Delhi, officially the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT), is a city and a union territory of India containing New Delhi, the capital of India. It is situated alongside River Yamuna and bordered by Haryana state on three sides and by Uttar Pradesh state to the east.

What is my city name in Delhi?

Constituents with city status

Name of Constituent District Population 2011
Burari North Delhi 145,584
Karawal Nagar North East Delhi 224,666
Mustafabad North East Delhi 127,012
Gokal Pur North East Delhi 121,938

How many cities are in Delhi?

Historians speak of the “Seven Cities of Delhi” but, between 1100 A.D. and 1947 A.D., there have actually been eight of them:

  • The oldest city near the site of the Qutab Minar.
  • Siri.
  • Tughlqabad.
  • Jahanpanah.
  • Firozobad.
  • The city around Purana Qila.
  • Shahjahanabad.
  • New Delhi.

What is Delhi capital?

New Delhi, national capital of India. It is situated in the north-central part of the country on the west bank of the Yamuna River, adjacent to and just south of Delhi city (Old Delhi) and within the Delhi national capital territory.

How is Delhi as a city?

In terms of numbers, Delhi today leads Indian cities on several indices, both positive and negative. It is recognised as one of the fastest growing metropolises in the world and is already the second most populated city in the world as well as the world’s most polluted capital.

Where is Delhi Located answer?

Delhi, the capital city of India, is situated on the banks of Yamuna and extends over an area of 1483 sq. km. The city is bordered by Haryana on its north, west and south and Uttar Pradesh on its east. Delhi, authoritatively the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT), is a city and an association region of India.

What is the area of Delhi?

573 mi²