Who hosted the Cricket World Cup in the year 1987?

Who hosted the Cricket World Cup in the year 1987?

1987 Cricket World Cup

Dates 8 October – 8 November 1987
Tournament format(s) Round robin and Knockout
Host(s) India Pakistan
Champions Australia (1st title)
Runners-up England

Who captained the Indian cricket team first?

Colonel C. K. Nayudu
The Indian team was first led by Colonel C. K. Nayudu against England at the Lord’s.

Who won the 1987 World Cup cricket?

Australian Men’s Cricket Team
1987 Cricket World Cup/Champion

Who was the captain of Indian cricket team in 1983?

Kapil Dev
One of the great all-rounders in cricket, Kapil Dev led the Indian team to victory in the World Cup of 1983. Being a legendary fast bowler and incomparable captain, Kapil Dev’s unbeatable 175 not out in the first match against Zimbabwe laid the foundation for the journey of Team India to the World Cup title.

Who was the captain of Australia in 1987 World Cup?

Australia Squad

Player Name DOB Role
Allan Border Captain 27-Jul-1955 Batsman
David Boon 29-Dec-1960 Batsman
Greg Dyer Wicket Keeper 16-Mar-1959 Wicket Keeper
Dean Jones 24-Mar-1961 Batsman

Who is India’s top scorer in 1987 World Cup?

Most runs

Player Team Runs
Saleem Malik Pakistan 323
Dean Jones Australia 314
Sunil Gavaskar India 300
Allan Lamb England 299

Who is the woman captain of Indian cricket team?

Mithali Raj
India women’s national cricket team

Captain Mithali Raj (Test, (One Day International) Harmanpreet Kaur (T20I)
Coach Ramesh Powar
International Cricket Council
ICC status Full member (1926)

Who was captain of Australia in 1987?

Australia Squad

Player Name DOB Bowling
Allan Border Captain 27-Jul-1955 Slow left-arm orthodox
David Boon 29-Dec-1960 Right-arm offbreak
Greg Dyer Wicket Keeper 16-Mar-1959
Dean Jones 24-Mar-1961 Right-arm offbreak

Who was the captain in 1983?


Player Date of Birth Batting Style
Kapil Dev (c) 6 January 1959 Right hand
Mohinder Amarnath (vc) 24 September 1950 Right hand
Kirti Azad 2 January 1959 Right-hand
Roger Binny 19 July 1955 Right-hand

How did Kapil Dev became captain?

Dev captained the Indian cricket team that won the 1983 Cricket World Cup. and in the process became first Indian captain to win Cricket World Cup. He was the coach of the Indian national team between September 1999 and September 2000….Kapil Dev.

Personal information
1984–1985 Worcestershire
Career statistics

Who was the man of the match in 1987 World Cup?

David Boon
1987 Cricket World Cup Final

Event 1987 ICC Cricket World Cup
Player of the match David Boon
Umpires Ram Gupta and Mahboob Shah
Attendance 95,000
← 1983 1992 →

When was the 1987 Cricket World Cup held in India?

This is a list of cricketers who represented their country at the 1987 Cricket World Cup in India and Pakistan which took place from 9 October 1987 to 8 November 1987. 1987 Cricket World Cup.

Who was the first captain of Indian cricket team in ODI?

Ajit Wadekar led the Indian cricket team as the first ODI captain in 2 games (India lost both games). First ODI cricket world cup was played in 1975, where the Indian cricket team was led by Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan. The name “ICC World Cup” was adopted from the 1999 World Cup. Earlier World Cups were named after the sponsors.

How many captains have led India in the Cricket World Cup?

Accordingly, the names were: 1975, 1979 and 1983 – Prudential World Cup, 1987 – Reliance World Cup, 1992 – Benson & Hedges World Cup, and 1996 – Wills World Cup. Till now, there have been 6 captains who led India since 1975. The most successful Indian cricket captains in the World Cup are Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Kapil Dev.

What was the name of the 4th Cricket World Cup?

The 1987 Cricket World Cup (officially known as the Reliance Cup 1987 for sponsorship reasons) was the fourth Cricket World Cup. It was held from 8 October to 8 November 1987 in India and Pakistan – the first such tournament to be held outside England.