Who are the recipients of the Australian of the Year award?

Who are the recipients of the Australian of the Year award?

List of Australian of the Year Award recipients Year of award Name Post nominals Born Died 1963 Sir John Eccles 1903 1997 1964 Dawn Fraser 1937 1965 Robert Helpmann CBE 1909 1986 1966 Jack Brabham OBE 1926 2014

Who are some of the most famous people in Australia?

Read More Senior Australian of the Year Professor Graeme Clark AC Pioneer of the Bionic Ear Read More Young Australian of the Year James Fitzpatrick Medical Student and Rural Health Campaigner Read More 2000 Australian of the Year Sir Gustav Nossal AC CBE Leading Australian Scientist and Reconciliation…

Who is the Australian of the Year for 2019?

Australian of the Year. Dr Richard Harris SC OAM from South Australia and Dr Craig Challen SC OAM from Western Australia are the 2019 Australians of the Year for their heroic efforts as part of an international rescue mission to save 12 boys from flooded caves in Thailand.

What is the Australian of the Year announcement?

The Australian of the Year announcement has become a notable part of the annual Australia Day celebrations. The official announcement has grown to become a public event, and the Canberra ceremony is televised nationally.

Who was the first Indigenous Australian to win the Military Medal?

First Indigenous Australian to be awarded the Military Medal in World War I : Maitland Madge. First Indigenous Australian to tour abroad as part of open sporting team: Glen Crouch (Queensland rugby league team to New Zealand). First Indigenous Australian to have a book published: David Unaipon ( Aboriginal Legends ).

When was Lionel Rose named Australian of the year?

From the Archives: Lionel Rose is named 1969 Australian of the Year. 50 years ago today, world boxing champion Lionel Edmund Rose was named Australian of the Year. The shy 20-year-old was the first Indigenous Australian to win the award. By. January 18, 2019 — 1.20pm.