Which nation borders both the Arctic and Pacific Oceans?

Which nation borders both the Arctic and Pacific Oceans?

United States. Given its large size, the United States (US) borders both the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans, as well as the Arctic Ocean.

Which two countries is the Arctic ocean bordered by?

The Arctic Ocean is surrounded by Eurasia and North America, and the borders follow topographic features: the Bering Strait on the Pacific side and the Greenland Scotland Ridge on the Atlantic side. It is mostly covered by sea ice throughout the year and almost completely in winter.

Which country in Asia borders the Arctic ocean?

Russia borders the Arctic Ocean to the North, the Atlantic in the west, and the Pacific in the east.

What 2 Oceans share the east and west borders of the United States?

The Atlantic Ocean covers an area of approximately 41,105,000 square miles . As the second largest ocean basin, the Atlantic Ocean borders the east coast of the U.S., while the Pacific, Earth’s largest ocean basin, borders the U.S. West Coast.

Which two continents are bordered by both the Atlantic and Pacific oceans?

Continents touched by BOTH the ATLANTIC and PACIFIC OCEANS: North America, South America, and Antarctica.

What country is surrounded by two oceans?


Continent Country Trans-oceanic connection
North America Costa Rica
North America & South America Panama Panama Canal
South America Colombia
South America Chile

What 8 countries border the Arctic?

The land within the Arctic Circle is divided among eight countries: Norway, Sweden, Finland, Russia, the United States (Alaska), Canada (Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Nunavut), Denmark (Greenland), and Iceland (where it passes through the small offshore island of Grímsey).

Which country lies in North America?

Countries in Northern America:

# Country Subregion
1 United States Northern America
2 Canada Northern America

What countries border no oceans?

Landlocked Countries

  • A landlocked country is a country that has no direct access to the ocean.
  • The Vatican and San Marino are landlocked countries surrounded by Italy.
  • Lesotho is completely surrounded by the country of South Africa.

Which of these countries borders both the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea?

Panama is the southernmost, easternmost country in Central America. It is bordered by Costa Rica to the west and Colombia to the east, and connects North America with South America. The country is shaped like the letter S and borders both the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean.

What countries border the Arctic Ocean?

The Arctic Ocean is unique in it almost surrounded by North America and Eurasia. Six nations have a coastline along the Arctic Ocean: the United States, Iceland, Norway, Canada, Russia, and Greenland. The United States (US) has coastline on the Arctic Ocean in the state of Alaska.

Does the United States have a coastline on the Arctic Ocean?

The United States (US) has coastline on the Arctic Ocean in the state of Alaska. According to the US government, the country’s coastline on the Arctic Ocean is approximately 1060 miles long.

Is the Arctic Ocean an ocean or a sea?

However, although recognized as an ocean by the International Hydrographic Organization, some oceanographers consider it to be a sea rather than an ocean. The Arctic Ocean reaches a depth of 18,050 feet at its deepest point, but has a much shallower average depth of 3,240 feet.

Are there any disputes surrounding territory in the Arctic Ocean?

There have been several disputes surrounding territory in the Arctic Ocean. One of the most prominent disputes occurred between Canada and Denmark and focused on the status of Hans Island, since it is situated at the center of an international strait.