Which European nations were neutral?

Which European nations were neutral?

Dozens of European states adopted neutrality at the beginning of WWII, but by 1945 only Ireland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and Turkey remained independent or unaligned.

Who stayed neutral in WW1?

The fact that on 11 November 1918 only a handful of states had remained neutral (in Europe: Norway, Sweden, Denmark, the Netherlands, Switzerland and Spain; in South America: Mexico, Chile and Argentina) suggests that the ability to do so during the First World War was the exception rather than the rule.

Who was neutral during the Cold War?

During the Cold War, for some of the neutral countries – Finland, Sweden, Ireland, Austria and Switzerland – the choice of neutrality was motivated by security policy; for others it was a matter of principle and law. As is well known, Switzerland has the oldest tradition of neutrality, already proclaimed in 1684.

What countries are neutral countries?

Today, the countries considered to be genuinely neutral are Finland, Malta, Ireland, Japan, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Sweden, Turkmenistan, and Vatican City. Many other countries are also considered to be neutral. Finland gained its independence from Russia in 1917.

How many neutral countries are there?

eight neutral countries
There are a total of eight neutral countries: Austria, Costa Rica, Finland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Sweden, Switzerland and Turkmenistan.

What nations were neutral in 1942?

the countries that were neutral in 1942 were Sweden, Ireland, Spain, Saudi Arabia, and Turkey.

Is Finland neutral?

There are five members of the European Union that still describe themselves as a neutral country in some form: Austria, Ireland, Finland, Malta and Sweden. With the development of the EU’s Common Security and Defence Policy, the extent to which they are, or should be, neutral is debated.

What countries were neutral in Cold War?

The post-Cold War era has led to a proliferation of scholarship on U.S. policy toward four neutral European countries—Austria, Finland, Switzerland, and Sweden—during the Cold War.

Why were countries neutral in Cold War?

But in terms of pure numbers, most countries remained neutral during the Cold War — in fact, they banded together to make their own power bloc. The Non-Aligned Movement was conceived as a way for countries to resist engaging in Cold War gamesmanship between the U.S. and the Soviets.

Why was Sweden neutral?

When, in September 1939, Germany attacked Poland and both France and Britain declared war on Nazi Germany, Sweden declared itself a neutral country in regard to this escalating situation. This allowed Sweden to aid Finland economically, and with armaments.

Is Denmark neutral?

At the outset of World War II in September 1939, Denmark declared itself neutral. For most of the war, the country was a protectorate and then an occupied territory of Germany. Overall, this represents a very low mortality rate when compared to other occupied countries and most belligerent countries.

What are the neutral nations?

Neutral Nation. The homeland of the Neutral people (left) was along the eastern side of the eastern shores of Lake Huron, the west side of the northern shores of Lake Ontario, and west of the Huron peoples and the rival Algonkian-speaking tribes living along the St. Lawrence River in lower Canada.

Which country is neutral?

Today, the lines are shifting in terms of what it means to be a neutral country. Technically speaking, Finalnd, Malta, Ireland, Japan, Liechenstein, Switzerland, Sweden, Turkmenistan, and the Vatican City are the only nations considered neutral. However, not all countries agree on this list and some view Ireland more as a “non-belligerent” state.

What are the neutral countries in the world?


  • Costa Rica
  • Finland
  • Ghana
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Mongolia
  • What countries were neutral in World War 2?


  • Iran
  • Nepal
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Tibet
  • Turkey
  • Yemen