Which countries became independent at the end of the war?

Which countries became independent at the end of the war?

Two countries that became independent after the Second World War were Egypt and Ethiopia.

How many countries got independence after World War?

A total of 65 countries have claimed their independence.

What was the last country to become independent?

The newest internationally recognized country in the world is the African country of South Sudan, which declared independence on July 9, 2011. In the following days, it became also the newest member of the United Nations. So, how do new countries come into being?

How many independent countries are there in the world?

195 countries
There are 195 countries in the world today. This total comprises 193 countries that are member states of the United Nations and 2 countries that are non-member observer states: the Holy See and the State of Palestine.

Which two countries became independent after the First World War?

Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia gained independence. They were occupied again by the Soviet Union in 1940.

Which countries became independent after World War 1?

The former empire of Austria-Hungary was dissolved, and new nations were created from its land: Austria, Hungary, Czechoslovakia, and Yugoslavia. The Ottoman Turks had to give up much of their land in southwest Asia and the Middle East.

How many colonies became independent?

By issuing the Declaration of Independence, adopted by the Continental Congress on July 4, 1776, the 13 American colonies severed their political connections to Great Britain.

When did countries become countries?


Country Date of current form of government Date of acquisition of sovereignty
Brazil 5 October 1988 15 November 1889
Canada 1 July 1867 11 December 1931
17 April 1982
Chile 17 August 1989 18 September 1810

Are there 198 countries?

In my opinion there is a total of 198 countries in the world. I count the 193 member states of the United Nations, 2 that has observatory status (Palestine and the Vatican) and 3 that is recognized by most other countries (Kosovo, Taiwan and Western Sahara).

What are independent countries?

An independent country is a self-governing and self-determining autonomous state. It can be comprised of many other states that rule under the same independent leanings of the overruling country.

How many countries gained independence from Britain?

Since then a total of 62 countries have gained independence from the United Kingdom. This is followed by France with 28, Spain with 17, The Soviet Union with 16, Portugal with 7 and the USA with 5.

How did countries gain independence after WW2?

But in the decades following WWII, dozens of countries claimed their independence. In 1945 there were 35 members of the United Nations, but by 1970 the membership had risen to 127, with the bulk of new members being newly independent colonies. In 1939, the British government was looking for support and soldiers to fight in World War II.

When was the last time a country became a republic?

There were two periods in recent history when many such transitions took place: during or within five years after World War II (1939–1950) – marked in pink. Some of the countries on this list were part of larger, now extinct, states (such as the Russian Empire or Yugoslavia) when the transition to a republic took place.

How many countries were formed after WW1?

There were nine new countries formed after World War One that took the place of the Russian and Austro-Hungarian empires. These countries were Austria, Hungary, Russia, Poland, Latvia, Estonia, Yugoslavia, Czechoslovakia, and Romania.

What happened to the British Empire after WW1?

The British, French, Dutch and Belgians were no longer able to maintain their overseas empires after the expense and devastation of the war. They had barely hung on to control in some cases after World War I, and the second war was too much.