What states do the Himalayas run through?

What states do the Himalayas run through?

The Indian Himalayan Region is spread across 13 Indian States/Union Territories (namely Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, Assam and West Bengal), stretching across 2500 km.

How many states cover Himalayas?

The Himalayan states include 10 hill states- Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, and two partial hill states, namely Assam and West Bengal.

Where do the Himalayas start and end?

The Himalaya proper stretches from the Indus river in Pakistan, through India, Nepal, and Bhutan, and ends at the Bramaputra River in eastern India.

How many passes are there in Himalayas?

Overall, the Himalayan mountain system is the world’s highest, and is home to 10 of 14 of the world’s highest peaks, the Eight-thousanders, and more than 50 peaks over 7,000 metres (23,000 ft)….Passes and routes.

Notable passes and routes Pass or route Banihal Pass
Elevation 2,832
Coordinates 33°31′N 75°16′E

Which country has most of Himalayas?

Their total area amounts to about 230,000 square miles (595,000 square km). Nanga Parbat. Forested slopes of the foothills of the Himalayan mountains near Kalimpong, northern West Bengal, India. Though India, Nepal, and Bhutan have sovereignty over most of the Himalayas, Pakistan and China also occupy parts of them.

Which states lie in the northern mountains?

The Himalayan North region comprises the two states and two union territories of India situated at the northernmost Himalayan mountain: Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh and Uttarakhand.

Are there Himalayas in Uttar Pradesh?

The greater Himalaya is the northern boundary of the state and is also the international boarder with China (Tibet). Foot-hills in the south are bounded by Uttar Pradesh….Himachal Pradesh at a glance.

Geographical Area 55,673 km2
Forest cover (2001) 25.79% of total geographical area

Where do the Himalayas end in the East?

The Eastern Himalayas extend from eastern Nepal across Northeast India, Bhutan, the Tibet Autonomous Region to Yunnan in China and northern Myanmar.

Where is Kanchenjunga situated?

It is situated in the eastern Himalayas on the border between Sikkim state, northeastern India, and eastern Nepal, 46 miles (74 km) north-northwest of Darjiling, Sikkim. The mountain is part of the Great Himalaya Range.

Which is highest pass in India?

Dungri La
Dungri La or Mana Pass, Uttarakhand – 18,406 ft At the height of 5610 metres, Mana Pass stands as the highest motorable road in India, and the highest vehicle-accessible pass in the world, contrary to the popular belief about Khardung La.

Which are the main passes of Himalayas?

Eminent Mountain Passes in the Western Himalayas in India:

  • Aghil Pass (Jammu & Kashmir – PoK)
  • Mintaka Pass (Jammu & Kashmir – PoK)
  • Khardung La (Jammu & Kashmir)
  • Karakoram Pass (Jammu & Kashmir)
  • Chang La (Jammu & Kashmir)
  • Zoji La (Jammu & Kashmir)
  • Bara Lacha La (Himachal Pradesh)
  • Rohtang Pass (Himachal Pradesh)

What is the closest city to the Himalayas?

Kathmandu, Nepal’s capital, is the closest major city to Everest.

  • Lukla. Lukla is a small town regularly used as the starting point for climbing Everest.
  • Namche Bazaar. Despite its name, Namche Bazaar is actually a town.
  • Katmandu. Kathmandu is the only major city near Everest.
  • Rongbuk Monastery.

Which states do the Himalayas pass through? Most of the Himalayas are located in Nepal, Bhutan and the states of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh in India. The outlying parts of the range lie in Tibet, Pakistan (some in disputed territories) and Burma.

What are the Himalayan states of Asia?

The Himalayan States Of Asia. The region is comprised of the Eastern and Western Himalaya. The sovereign states of Bhutan and Nepal lie almost entirely within the mountain chain. The mountain chain also includes northern Pakistan, the Indian Himalayan states in the North as well as in Northeast India, and China’s autonomous region of South Tibet.

How many countries does the Himalayan mountain range cross?

The Himalayan Mountains crosses six countries: Bhutan, Tibet, India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Afghanistan. This mountain range stretches 1,700 miles across an area between the states of Assam and Jammu and Kashmir.

What are the three main ranges of the Himalayas?

The Himalayan range is made up of three parallel ranges often referred to as the Greater Himalayas, the Lesser Himalayas, and the Outer Himalayas. View The Himalayas in a larger map.