What is the country made up of four main islands?

What is the country made up of four main islands?

of Japan
Japan’s “mainland” consists of four primary islands: Hokkaido, Honshu, Kyushu, and Shikoku. In total, the country of Japan includes 6,852 islands, many of which are very small and uninhabited.

What country has an archipelago four main islands more than 6000 small islands?

The Copernicus Sentinel-3 mission takes us over the Japanese archipelago – a string of islands that extends about 3000 km into the western Pacific Ocean. While the archipelago is made up of over 6000 islands, this image focuses on Japan’s four main islands.

What are the 4 main islands of Japan called?

The territory of Japan comprises the four large islands of Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, and Kyushu, and other smaller islands.

Where are Japan’s 4 main islands?

Nearly the entire land area is taken up by the country’s four main islands; from north to south these are Hokkaido (Hokkaidō), Honshu (Honshū), Shikoku, and Kyushu (Kyūshū).

What is the largest of the four main islands in Japan?

Honshu, largest of the four main islands of Japan, lying between the Pacific Ocean (east) and the Sea of Japan (west).

What is the largest island country?


Rank State Total in km2 (mi2)
1 Greenland (Denmark) 2,130,800 (822,700)
2 Madagascar 587,713 (226,917)
3 Canada 507,451 (195,928)
4 Indonesia 443,066 (171,069)

Is Japan a archipelago?

1. JAPANESE ARCHIPELAGO. The Japanese archipelago stretches from subtropical to subarctic zones and runs parallel to the eastern rim of the Eurasian Continent. The archipelago consists of four main islands and more than 3,900 smaller islands whose area covers almost 378,000 square kilometers.

Is Japan an archipelago or an island?

Japan is an archipelago, or string of islands, on the eastern edge of Asia. There are four main islands: Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, and Kyushu.

What four countries are located east of Japan?

The five main islands are Hokkaido, Honshu, Kyushu, Shikoku and Okinawa. There are 6,847 remote islands. The Ryukyu Islands and Nanpō Islands are south and east of the main islands….Geography of Japan.

Continent Asia
• Water 12.06901%
Coastline 29,751 km (18,486 mi)
Borders None
Highest point Mount Fuji 3,776 m (12,388 ft)

How many islands is Japan made up of?

6852 islands
According to this definition, the Japanese archipelago consists of 6852 islands, including the northern territories (the islands of Etorofu, Kunashiri, Shikotan and Habomai), of which 421 are inhabited and more than 90% uninhabited (Nihon Rito-center, 1996: 1–2).

What are the four main islands of Japan quizlet?

Thousands of islands make up the Japanese archipelago, but there are four main islands: Hokkaido, Honshu, Shikoku, and Kyushu.

Which is the largest island in Asia?

Borneo (/ˈbɔːrnioʊ/; Indonesian: Kalimantan) is the third-largest island in the world and the largest in Asia. At the geographic centre of Maritime Southeast Asia, in relation to major Indonesian islands, it is located north of Java, west of Sulawesi, and east of Sumatra.

Which are the island countries of Asia?

Which Are the Island Countries of Asia? 1 Philippines. 2 Sri Lanka. 3 The Maldives. 4 Japan. 5 Singapore. 6 Indonesia. 7 East Timor. 8 Taiwan. 9 Brunei Darussalam.

What is the most populated country in East Asia?

China is the most populous country in East Asia, and the world, with more than 1.4 billion people. Macao has East Asia’s smallest population, but it is the most densely populated territory on Earth. The East Asian state of Mongolia gave birth to the Mongol Empire, the largest empire in human history by area.

What countries are in East Asia and its neighbors?

Figure 10.1 East Asia and Its Neighbors. China is the largest country in East Asia in both physical size and population. Other countries of East Asia include Mongolia, North Korea, South Korea, and Japan. Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan are associated with mainland China.

Where are the islands of Japan located?

The islands of Japan are located between the Sea of Okhotsk and the East China Sea to the north and south, respectively. The country includes about 6,852 islands. Large parts of Japan are heavily forested and mountainous, and settlements are mainly located in the coastal regions and are densely populated.