What areas fall under Durban?

What areas fall under Durban?


  • Arena Park.
  • Berea.
  • Bluff.
  • Cato Manor.
  • Durban North.
  • Essenwood.
  • Glen Park.
  • Glenwood.

What is the greater Durban area?

The Greater Durban Metro, KwaZulu Natal Bustling Durban is the hub of the province’s business and industry and pulses with all the energy of a major port city. Durban is one of the fastest-growing urban areas in the world. Its port is the busiest in South Africa and also one of the 10 largest in the world.

Is Durban small or large?

Durban forms part of the eThekwini Metropolitan Municipality, which includes neighboring towns and has a population of about 3.44 million, making the combined municipality one of the largest cities on the Indian Ocean coast of the African continent.

Is Durban a poor city?

The major city with the lowest poverty rate is Cape Town (30%). Pretoria and Johannesburg have somewhat higher rates of 35% and 38%, respectively, while Durban has a rate of 44%. The poorest municipality is Ntabankulu in the Eastern Cape, where 85% of its residents live below the poverty line.

What suburb is Durban North?

Durban North lies between the N2 freeway and the eastern seashore, with the Umgeni River forming its southern boundary. It has residential suburbs that are some of Durban’s most affluent and is flanked by La Lucia in the north….

Durban North
PO box 4016

Is Umhlanga a suburb of Durban?

Those flying into Durban on business need go no further south to get to Umhlanga, as King Shaka International Airport is an easy 15-minute drive away. Property. Of all the property in KwaZulu-Natal, that on the North Coast has gained in value considerably more than elsewhere.

What are the towns in Durban?

Durban is made up of several “sub-towns” and suburbs. Pinetown, The Bluff, Umhlanga, and Westville are all major suburbs that form part of the city of Durban.

Why is Durban called Durban?

Durban was founded in 1835 on the site of Port Natal and was named for Sir Benjamin D’Urban, the governor of the Cape Colony. In the late 1830s and early ’40s the Boers clashed with the British over control of Durban.

What is the capital city of KZN?

Pietermaritzburg, city, capital of KwaZulu-Natal province, South Africa. It lies in the Msunduzi River valley, at the base of a tree-covered escarpment inland from Durban.

What is the richest town in South Africa?

Cape Town was named the second richest city in Africa with a total wealth of $130 billion. New World Wealth said that most of this wealth is concentrated in the following suburbs: Clifton. Bantry Bay….These are the richest suburbs in South Africa.

Suburb Average price % increase over the last 10 years
Waterfront R12 million +71%

Is Phoenix Durban a suburb?

Phoenix is a South African town about 25 kilometres northwest of Durban Central, in KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. It was established as a town by the apartheid government in 1976, but it has a long history of Indian occupation….Phoenix, KwaZulu-Natal.

Country South Africa
Province KwaZulu-Natal
Municipality eThekwini

What is the best place to live in Durban?

The Coolest Neighbourhoods in Durban

  • Station Drive Precinct. Station Drive Precinct is the hottest new neighbourhood in Durban.
  • Rivertown District. This is an inner city revival project which aims to reignite Durban’s deserted and neglected spaces in the CBD.
  • Morningside.
  • North Beach.
  • Glenwood.
  • Umhlanga Rocks.