What are the states in Suriname?

What are the states in Suriname?

Administrative divisions: 10 districts (distrikten, singular – district): Brokopondo, Commewijne, Coronie, Marowijne, Nickerie, Para, Paramaribo, Saramacca, Sipaliwini, Wanica. Note: The president is both the chief of state and head of government.

What was Suriname called?

Dutch Guiana
Suriname, once known as Dutch Guiana, is one of South America’s smallest countries. It enjoys a relatively high standard of living but also faces serious political and economic challenges. Since independence from the Netherlands in 1975 Suriname has endured coups and a civil war.

Did Suriname have a different name?

Formerly known as Dutch Guiana, Suriname was a plantation colony of the Netherlands that gained its independence on November 25, 1975. From 1980 to 1987 the country was governed by a succession of military regimes. A new civilian constitution was approved in 1987.

What is Suriname’s political system?

Liberal democracy

How many states are there in Suriname?

Suriname is divided into 10 districts (Dutch: districten).

Is Suriname considered Latin America?

Suriname is not part of Latin America, which probably sounds surprising as it is located within South America. Latin America includes 26 countries that share history, heritage, and languages. There is, however, one region located within South America that is not considered Latin American!

What was Guyana formerly called?

British Guiana
The name “Guyana” derives from Guiana, the original name for the region that formerly included Guyana (British Guiana), Suriname (Dutch Guiana), French Guiana, and parts of Colombia, Venezuela and Brazil.

Who owns Guyana?

It was governed as British Guiana, with a mostly plantation-style economy until the 1950s. It gained independence in 1966, and officially became a republic within the Commonwealth of Nations in 1970….Guyana.

Co-operative Republic of Guyana
Capital and largest city Georgetown 6°46′N 58°10′W
Official languages English

What is Uruguay’s government?

Unitary statePresidential systemConstitutional republic

Uruguay is a representative democratic republic with a presidential system. The members of government are elected for a five-year term by a universal suffrage system. Uruguay is a unitary state: justice, education, health, security, foreign policy and defense are all administered nationwide.

What is Suriname known for?

Suriname is the smallest independent country in South America. Over 90% of the country is covered by tropical rain forest. The country’s name ‘Suriname’ derives from the Surinen people who lived in the area in the 16th century. Suriname is known for its Dutch sugar plantations.

What language Suriname speak?

DutchSuriname / Official language
Sranan is spoken by almost the entire population of Suriname as either a first or a second language, as well as by a large emigrant population in the Netherlands. It functions as a lingua franca and as a national language of Suriname, although it has less prestige than Dutch, the country’s official language.

Do they speak English in Suriname?

Dutch may be the official language of Suriname,1 but most Surinamese speak Sranan, an English-based creole, which has been influenced by Dutch and Portuguese along with some West African languages.

Is Suriname a country or a city?

Suriname is a multiethnic, multicultural, multilingual, and multireligious country without a true national culture. Location and Geography. Suriname is in South America but is considered a Caribbean country. The total area is 63,250 square miles (163,820 square kilometers).

What is the second largest ethnic group in Suriname?

The second major ethnic group, accounting for about one-fifth of the population, is the Maroons (descendants of escaped slaves of African origin). Creoles, who in Suriname are people of mainly African descent, constitute between one-tenth and one-fifth of the population.

When did Surinam change its name to Suriname?

When the territory was taken over by the Dutch, it became part of a group of colonies known as Dutch Guiana. The official spelling of the country’s English name was changed from Surinam to Suriname in January 1978, but Surinam can still be found in English.

What are the administrative divisions of Suriname?

Administrative divisions District Capital Area (km 2 ) Population (2012 census) 8 Saramacca Groningen 3,636 17,480 9 Sipaliwini none 130,567 37,065 10 Wanica Lelydorp 443 118,222 SURINAME Paramaribo 163,820 541,638