How many countries in Africa border an ocean or sea?

How many countries in Africa border an ocean or sea?

Atlantic Ocean. 27 countries in Africa border the Atlantic Ocean: Algeria. Angola.

What are the seas and oceans that borders Africa?

The continent is bounded on the west by the Atlantic Ocean, on the north by the Mediterranean Sea, on the east by the Red Sea and the Indian Ocean, and on the south by the mingling waters of the Atlantic and Indian oceans.

What are the bordering seas and oceans?

Historically, there are four oceans; Pacific, Atlantic, Indian, and Arctic. Modern definitions include the Southern Ocean, while some divide the Pacific Ocean into South Pacific and North Pacific and the Atlantic into South Atlantic and North Atlantic….Countries That Border Three Oceans.

Rank Country Oceans Bordered
2 Canada Pacific, Atlantic, Arctic

What countries border the Atlantic Ocean in Africa?


  • Algeria.
  • Angola.
  • Benin.
  • Bouvet Island (NOR)
  • Cameroon.
  • Canary Islands (ESP)
  • Cape Verde.
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Is Nigeria landlocked or coastal?

16 of Africa’s 55 countries are landlocked. Chad is the largest landlocked country in Africa, while Eswatini is the smallest….The 16 Landlocked Countries In Africa.

Rank 11
Country Niger
Area (km2) 1,267,000
Population 15,306,252
Surrounding countries 7 – Algeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Chad, Libya, Mali, and Nigeria

How many borders does Africa have?


Show national borders Hide national borders Show all
Area 30,370,000 km2 (11,730,000 sq mi) (2nd)
Demonym African
Countries 54+2*+5** (*disputed) (**territories)
Dependencies show External (5) show Internal (7+1 disputed)

What countries border Africa?

It is bordered by Egypt to the north, the Red Sea to the northeast, Eritrea and Ethiopia to the east, Kenya and Uganda to the southeast, Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west and Libya to the northwest.

How many seas are in Africa?

This part of the African continent is located close to three Oceans, namely the South Atlantic Ocean, the Indian Ocean and the Southern Ocean.

What countries are surrounded by 2 oceans?


Continent Country Oceans
North America Costa Rica 2
North America & South America Panama 2
South America Colombia 2
South America Chile 2 or 3

What are 10 countries bordering the Pacific Ocean?

Countries bordering the Pacific Ocean

  • Australia.
  • Canada.
  • China.
  • Japan.
  • Mexico.
  • Russia.
  • Singapore.
  • South Korea.

What countries border the Arctic Ocean?

Countries bordering the Arctic Ocean are Russia, Norway, Iceland, Greenland (territory of the Kingdom of Denmark), Canada and the United States.

Does Nigeria border the Atlantic Ocean?

NIGERIA, THE MOST populous nation in Africa, is bordered to the south by the Gulf of Guinea in the ATLANTIC OCEAN, and to the west and east by the Republic of BENIN and CAMEROON, respectively. The Republic of NIGER is across the border in the north. The Benue and NIGER are the two main rivers in Nigeria.